Blank Slate

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ma'am

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
If you guys were going to start out all over again....what/where/when/how/ and why would you choose that spot? And what would you do first? Everything...I want details lol

My hubby and I have been offered the chance to buy part of the family farm.....starting with hopefully 50 acres...moving on to hopefully up to 200 acres. I am starting my plan now of how to lay everything out, what I want to have on location/ animals/ building/ ect. But since I am relatively new to prepping I wanted to ask the pros what I need to look out for/consider. I know I will make mistakes along the way, but I want to avoid any problems before hand... if possibly. I want to create a self sufficient homestead-so I dont have to rely on outside sources for much. When SHTF -I want to be able to Bug-In and be pretty comfortable with my preparations.

The layout: Starting out with 50 acres seems like a big undertaking in the beginning...is that too much?
part of the lot is wooded, and I intend on expanding the wooded area-does 10+/- acres provide enough 'wild' area to keep local deer/game coming around every once in awhile.
I am in love with the location-beautiful area, close to a small fishing lake (walking distance) pretty close to the area I plan on working, great community, and best of all PRIVACY and SPACE!
The land is currently being used for farming, and I would want to get started with hay fields as soon as possibly so I dont end up spending time and money down the rd with brush removal.
I have SO many questions----the idea of starting with a blank slate is exciting and I want to explore all my options first.
What are the faults in my plans/what am I not seeing?