So I'm writing a prepper novel

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LadyRoman

Friend
Neighbor
Hello Everyone!

I've decided my next novel is going to be a shtf situation and would love your input and advice. I don't want to over look anything. I'm new at prepping so I would appreciate your experience and knowledge. Who knows? Maybe this will end up becoming really successful and then it will get more people thinking about prepping! (That's kinda my goal)

My scenario is Solar EMP kills power grid.
I know the obvious things that will no longer work. But I was wondering about smaller things like walkie talkies, flashlights, things running on batteries. Also what about older cars (60s-70s) that don't have an electronic starter? Would solar panels or gas/wind generators still work?

All these questions are assuming they have not been protected by a faraday cage.

I know some of these might be obvious to you. But, like I said, I'm new at this.
Thank you!

one thing you might want to look into,is the 1859 emp and what it did...pluse there's other documented emps as well..reading up on them might help you understand what a emp can and will do...walkie talkies has electronics,so does cell phones desk top computers electroniic lights that come on at night when it detects movement..i beleave any solar panel most and likely wont after a emp.a wind powered generator most n like wont in my opinon,simply because it's electric

Thank you for the 1857 suggestion. Tons of material from that.

I knew about the cell phones and computers exc. I was just wondering about things running on batteries. Someone had told me that flashlights would still work but I wasn't sure. Thats why I figured I would ask here.

What about the older cars? Gas generators?

If something was unplugged or powered down would it still be effected?