What are you thankful for?

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brent S

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
I was just lying here feeling very content with life. I worked pretty hard today, and finished off with a grilled steak dinner with roasted zucchini slices, homemade green beans and sweet corn on the cob. I washed it down with two, yes two, glasses of really good homemade muscadine wine. I know it's not thanksgiving or anything, but I am really greatfull to be able to go to sleep with a full belly, in a comfortable bed with a/c. I dosent take much to keep my happy in life!

I am slowly getting back into a life of physical work during the day then watching the sunset with a beer followed by a good meal. Basically the same as I've been doing for the last 15 years except I'm adding the physical work part :)

It's a simple life and really all one needs, I still do some electronics design but will wind that up, I can live fine without the money and I don't need the stress.

I firmly believe people should "drop out" if they can afford to, still use the good things from our current society but simplify your life to the basics. At present we can pick the eyes out of both lifestyles, it makes for a relaxed and stress-free life and it will be a good base for preparing for a post SHTF scenario.

So I too am very thankful for the life I've been allowed to live and I hope it continues along the same lines, no way I want a full-on SHTF event but if things just "get tougher" I'll hardly notice.

I too have added more manual labor to my routine. Talk about the good with the bad, hehe... I have to fix a fence tonight, when I get home from work, but then it's a nice steak dinner on the grill, so can't complain too bad.